Paris the Penitent – Another Saint Among the Stars?

Loathe as I am to give Paris Hilton any more space on the web, I can’t help myself after hearing the statement she gave before being whisked off to jail. The widely quoted version of the statement reads:

"During the past few weeks I have had a lot of time to think and have come to realize I made some mistakes. This is an important point in my life and I need to take responsibility for my actions. In the future, I plan on taking more of an active role in the decisions I make. I want to thank my family, friends and fans for their continued support. Although I am scared, I am ready to begin my jail sentence."

No surprises there. Concise. Contrite. Fully-formed thoughts. Clearly the work of a professional.

What has received less ink, even on the excellent Superficial blog, is the phrase at the end of this less carefully wrought statement:

"I’ve received thousands of letters from around the world of support and it’s really been inspirational and really helped me," she said. "I’m really scared but I’m ready to do this. And I hope that I’m an example to other young people."

 Is this the sign of the apocalypse? Paris Hilton can make a statement saying she hopes she can be a role model to young people, just before she’s turfed into jail, and there isn’t someone there forcing hemlock down her throat?

While I hope her intent was to reinforce the notion of taking responsibility for one’s actions, how is this even remotely credible coming from Ms. Hilton? How can anyone be expected to grasp that meaning when she’s being feted off to jail by a media circus? Isn’t there another, more obvious, message there for the kids?

I need to calm down and just relax…at least in that I can use Ms. Hilton as a role model.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

